Header Ads

10 Most Rewatchable Avatar The Last Airbender Episodes

The three-season run of Avatar: The Last Airbender has led to critical acclaim, as much for its sensitively designed characters as for the expansive world in which they run around freely. Books Water, Earth, and Fire are each incredible in their own right — but they all chronicle Avatar Aang's journey, both physical and psychological, to become strong enough to fight his terrifying opponent, Fire Lord Ozai.

RELATED: 10 Greatest Betrayals In ATLA

Every one of ATLA's 61 episodes has some kind of rewatch value, but there are a few which can be watched over and over again without them ever becoming boring. These episodes tend to be significant milestones, propelling the story forward by engaging the audience as well as redefining the overall scope of the narrative.

10 The Avatar And The Fire Lord (Season 3 Episode 6)

Zuko and Aang embark on a simultaneous journey, albeit through their own modes: the prince peruses his great-grandfather's testament, while the Avatar visualizes the past (through Roku).

The episode manages to detail the complex relationship between the Avatar and the Fire Nation quite effectively, and the experiences bring about great change in both Aang and Zuko. More importantly, it's the blast from the past theme that makes it so interesting.

9 The Blue Spirit (Season 1 Episode 13)

A mysterious entity saves Aang from Admiral Zhao, almost dying in the process. To everyone's surprise, the so-called Blue Spirit is none other than Zuko, who wants the Avatar to serve his own needs.

The excellent plot twist notwithstanding, this episode marks the beginning of an uneasy rivalry between Zuko and Aang, although it takes quite some time before they are willing to completely trust each other. "The Blue Spirit" is riveting, exhilarating, and sentimental, all features that strengthen its rewatchability.

8 The Crossroads Of Destiny (Season 2 Episode 20)

"The Crossroads of Destiny" is impactful on several levels — the fall of Ba Sing Se, Aang's perceived death, Zuko's royal reinstatement, and more. It takes the threads from all preceding episodes and weaves them into a meaning-heavy tapestry.

RELATED: All Of Sokka’s Haikus In ATLA, Ranked By Hilarity

The fact that it ends on a massive cliffhanger is not important for rewatch purposes, but the preceding battle choreography and shocking betrayals are more than sufficient to keep the episode stimulating through repeated watchings.

7 The Blind Bandit (Season 2 Episode 6)

Aang's hunt for a decent Earthbending master takes him to Gaoling, where he comes across the titular Blind Bandit. Toph Beifong's entry into the series might be a little late, but it is nothing short of spectacular.

This episode is enjoyable not just because it subverts gender and age norms, but because it affirms Toph's limitless patience, especially with her family's helicopter parenting. In any case, watching a badass little girl throw around men five times her size never gets old.

6 The Firebending Masters (Season 3 Episode 13)

Aang's elation at finding a Firebending teacher is short-lived when Zuko fails to generate fire (due to becoming much calmer). The two of them journey to the ruins of the ancient Sun Warrior civilization, where they stunned to find the culture still surviving, even if not thriving.

This episode reveals the existence of dragons, a pair named Shaw & Ran, who proceed to deliver the secrets of Firebending via a magnificent pillar of kaleidoscopic flame. "The Firebending Masters" retains its appeal even after multiple viewings, largely because it cements the bond between Aang and Zuko forever.

5 The Tales Of Ba Sing Se (Season 2 Episode 15)

Although it seems like filler, "The Tales of Ba Sing Se" is anything but empty. On the contrary, it accentuates one major aspect of each character through their hopes, dreams, sorrows, and losses, compelling audiences to reexamine Iroh, Zuko, Katara, Aang, Sokka, Toph, and Momo in a new light.

RELATED: 10 Little Known Facts About The Spirit World In ATLA

This episode does little to progress the story, but plot has no meaning here whatsoever. Instead, there are six characters undergoing six unique experiences and handling them in different ways. The slice-of-life concept used here is a welcome change of pace for such a turbulent show.

4 The Siege Of The North, Parts 1 & 2 (Season 1 Episodes 19 & 20)

The culminating episodes of Book One take place in the Northern Water Tribe, describing the assault against the city of Agna Qel'a by Zhao and the latter's subsequent incursion into the Spirit Oasis. "The Siege of the North" is a roller-coaster, teetering from suspense to excitement and back.

Zhao ultimately deletes the moon from the world, inspiring Aang to combine with the Ocean Spirit and destroy the Fire Nation ships. On the other side of the emotional spectrum, Princess Yue willingly sacrifices her mortal form and establishes harmony by restoring the Moon Spirit. Every rewatch lends itself to new discoveries.

3 Zuko Alone (Season 2 Episode 7)

Zuko goes on a solo trip across the Earth Kingdom in an episode that juxtaposes his childhood with his current situation seamlessly. He helps a family being oppressed by local soldiers, but instead of being treated like a hero, everyone instantly spurns him for his heritage.

This incredible episode excludes Team Avatar entirely, the only one to do so, allowing Zuko's emotions to take center stage for the first time. "Zuko Alone" displays the contrast between its titular character's strengths and weaknesses without being boring for a single scene.

2 The Storm (Season 1 Episode 12)

This episode has two focal points — Aang deals with his century-old anxiety (fighting the Fire Lord), and Zuko's scar's backstory is finally uncovered. The point of "The Storm" is that both these characters may have had different pasts, but they are equally held back by fear of the future.

RELATED: 10 Most Visually Stunning Locations In The World Of Avatar

In the end, they manage to break out of their grooves and do what's expected of them, and they are all the better for it. This episode can be watched several times and still lose none of its charm.

1 Sozin's Comet (Season 3 Episodes 18, 19, 20 & 21)

The final four episodes of the series are all titled "Sozin's Comet", although each has personalized subtitling depending on the storyline. In summary: Aang's reluctance to take a life leads him to a Lion Turtle; the rest of Team Avatar distribute their tasks according to relevance and talent; Azula is brought down by Zuko and Katara; and Ozai mounts a fiery invasion of the Earth Kingdom, only to shamefully lose to Avatar Aang.

Everything about this quartet of episodes is captivating, and it concludes the series in the sweetest way imaginable: Katara and Aang's romantic kiss on a balcony overlooking Ba Sing Se. The 93-minute combined runtime only makes audiences long for more.

NEXT: 10 Of The Most Important Events In the Avatar World Timeline

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.